Deconstructed Lasagna

15 Dec

Sometimes, the best things in life are the unplanned ones.

Like when you move into a new apartment and assume there are baking dishes there that are big enough to fit a lasagna without first checking. And when there aren’t, you decide to make two small ones with the little pan you found.

And when that doesn’t work because you didn’t use enough water in the second batch of lasagna noodles and they all stick together–

– you decide to use the leftovers to make a lasagna salad.

And it’s delicious.

I didn’t measure anything for this recipe, which is why I had too much pasta and not enough “cheese” or sauce.

For the “cheese”, I used:

  • extra firm tofu, squeezed dry and crumbled
  • turmeric
  • nutritional yeast
  • paprika
  • tahini
  • garlic, fresh
  • garlic and onion, powdered

Next, I sautéed kale, carrots, and onions in some oil and mixed it in with the cheese.

I took the tomato sauce that I made earlier in the year that was in my freezer and used it to layer the noodles and “cheese”.

Then I put the real lasagna in the oven while I made my lasagna salad.

Leave a Reply

