Home(s)

27 Nov

New York, NY and Washington, D.C.

The two powerhouse cities of the East Coast. The Capital of the World. Our Nation’s Capital. The Big Apple. The District. NYC. DC.

Home.

Now technically, I don’t live in New York City. I live on the other side of the Hudson River and about 20 miles upstate, but that doesn’t stop me from feeling at home in the city. New York taught me how to watch people and navigate a public transportation system when things went wrong. New York introduced me to the deliciousness that is street-vendor food. New York showed me that the important things in life are worth sitting on the sidewalk for hours in freezing cold January, or in blazing hot July. New York let me experience the last sliver of family bonding time before I went off to school. New York is responsible for far more sunburn than I wish to recall. New York is the closest identifiable landmark I have to tell people where I grew up.

DC is my newest home. I came here a year and a half ago as a scared freshman, not knowing what to expect. I never thought I’d fall in love so quickly with a city. I took to it immediately, taking advantage of the opportunities that weren’t afforded to me in suburbia. Suddenly, a world of culture and nightlife opened up to me and I knew I’d never be as happy if I lost it. When freshman year ended, I got a summer job and permission from my parents to stay.

So now, as I cruise down I-95 in a bus full of people I don’t know, I’d like to give thanks for the two best homes in the world. I couldn’t be luckier.

 

And on that note, I’d like to finish up my Thanksgiving 2010 posts.

For breakfast, I had a cherry strawberry smoothie and peanut butter pancakes.

It’s going to be hard to give you all a recipe for the pancakes. I kind of just threw some things together in a bowl and put it on a pan.

But I think it went something like this:

1/4 cup peanut flour

1/4 whole wheat flour

1/2 tsp arrowroot powder

1/2 tsp baking powder

pinch of salt

cinnamon

vanilla extract

Mix, cook, drizzle with olive oil and maple syrup.

It certainly wasn’t the most attractive meal. The bottoms of the pancakes burned and fell apart. But they tasted good, and that’s all that mattered to me this morning.

 

I purposely brought a rolling duffle bag home this week and didn’t fill it all the way. I wanted to make sure I left room for sweet potatoes, cranberry sauce, tofurkey casserole, 3/4 of a pumpkin pie, and these cookies that Julia made for me.

Now if only this bus would hurry up and get to DC so I get home and eat!

Leave a Reply

