Homeward Bound

23 Nov

Obviously this post would have made a lot more sense if it had been done on my 5 hour bus ride last night, but the internet was sketchy and wouldn’t load WordPress.

I made myself one of the last black bean quinoa burgers, smothered it in ketchup, and toasted some sprouted bread and topped it off with hummus. I ate it on a bench in Bethesda. Classyyy.

I made this identical meal here.

Which obviously goes to show that presentation is everything when you’re serving food.

But I ate two really delicious bars on the way home. The first was a Larabar

They’re vegan, gluten-free, soy-free, and raw. They’re not too expensive ( I pay about $1.25 each for them) and they’re pretty filling. Plus, they’re sweetened with dates, come in a ton of different flavors, and have only three or four ingredients. What else could I want?

When we got to New York, I was still a little hungry, so I pulled out my Vegan Organic Food Bar. I bought it at Whole Foods on Sunday. I think I paid about 3 dollars for it, which is more than I usually pay for food bars, but it looked good and I wanted to try it.

I’d definitely recommend it. It reminded me of the PowerBars I used to eat at my piano lessons in 5th grade, but without the buckets full of sugar. I think I’m going to try to find wholesale ones on Amazon or through their website.

Take a look at those ingredients!

Leave a Reply

