Busboys and Poets

23 Nov

On Saturday, my family came down to DC to see my choir’s  performance of Mozart’s Requiem.

Since they were in town, we decided to go out to eat at Busboys and Poets, a DC area restaurant. They have 3 locations in the metro area, one downtown, one on 14th Street, and one in Arlington, VA. We went to the 14th Street location.

One of my favorite things about this restaurant is that it has food for everyone. My mom was able to get a salad, my brother and dad got  burgers, and my sister and I got vegan food. It’s a great place to go when you have a bunch of people who eat different kinds of food. And unlike many other restaurants that claim to cater to vegan eaters, it actually seems to put some thought into the vegan menu. It’s not the kind of place where they just take a dish and remove all of the animal products. They seem to be interested in serving vegan dishes that take some time and thought.

They have a bookstore in the front of the store that’s a ton of fun to walk around in and they do open-mic nights, poetry readings, book signings, and demonstrations. They’re committed to sustainable living and eating practices.

It’s pretty much my kind of place.

 

Julia got falafel.

I got vegan pizza.

I’ve been craving a good slice of pizza since the day before I went vegan. My fam and I were supposed to go out to 2Amys, a legendary DC pizza place, but it was too crowded and they wouldn’t seat the 9 of us.

Vegan pizza is not cheese pizza, but it’s still good. You just have to get used to the different texture of cheese. Instead of being melty, it’s stretchy. And it was mozzarella flavored, which I don’t like on my pizza anyway. But I still really enjoyed it. The vegetables were a nice touch.

Mmmm vegan pepperoni.

 

Leave a Reply

