Apples and Fries

10 Nov

I have lots of vegetables in my pantry. And when I say pantry, I actually mean overhead storage unit because I live in a dorm room.

Anyway, I call it my pantry and when I looked in it last night, I saw a bunch of vegetables that wanted to be used. But I really wanted something carby too. So I combined the two and made some baked, breaded sweet potato and zucchini fries.

Sweet Potato and Zucchini Fries

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

1 sweet potato

1 zucchini

rice milk

1 tbsp flaxseed mixed with 3 tbsp water (or favorite egg substitute)

bread crumbs

safflower oil

1. Cut the sweet potato and zucchini into long strips (think french fries)

2. Microwave the flaxseed with the water for 30 seconds. Add to the rice milk. This will simulate an egg and milk mixture.

3. Dip the vegetable fries into the milk mixture first, then into a bowl of bread crumbs.

After all of the fries are coated in the bread crumbs (this takes a while), spread them all out on a baking sheet covered in safflower oil.

I also sprayed some oil on top of the fries so they would cook faster.

Next, I put them in the oven. I didn’t time them, but I just waited until they were soft.

In the meantime, I started preparing desert.

Honey Baked Apples

So, I saw this recipe at Cooking by the Seat of My Pants and I couldn’t resist. Lucky for me, the dining hall had apples and I had walnuts in my pantry. I adapted it to make it vegan.

3 apples

handful of walnuts

3 tablespoon safflower oil

4 tablespoons honey

cinnaom

vanilla extract

nutmeg

1. Cut the center out of the apples. *BUT* don’t cut all the way to the bottom. Leave a little bit of the flesh or the stuffing will fall out.

2. Next, microwave the honey for 15 seconds. Add the oil, vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg to the honey.

3. Chop the walnuts and add them to the mixture.

4. Fill the apples with the mixture and bake in the oven at 400 degrees until they become soft.

Another important thing that I forgot to do- make sure you make a small incision around the middle section of the apple. Otherwise, your apples will burst like mine did.

I ate the fries with tomato sauce I had in my freezer. I made it last month.

I was so happy with the way my dinner came out. The apples were even better than expected. I ate two even though I was full after the first.

Sorry for the quality in some of the earlier pictures. I realized that my quality was on manual when I thought it was on automatic. I wasn’t setting it, so all the pictures are sort of blurry.

Leave a Reply

