Month of Good Decisions

2 Nov

November is all about making good decisions.

So this morning, against my body’s wishes, I pulled myself out of my bed, braved the cold, and went to the gym.

And it was awesome.

This past July, I challenged myself to go to the gym and workout every day. I bribed myself with a Sigma brush set. And I had a great month because I was so psyched about getting into shape.

Now, I’m not making any promises. You definitely won’t see me at the gym every day this month. First of all, it’s cold out. Second of all, I’m already doing this vegan thing and I don’t want to put too much on my plate. But I want to try to go more than once every three months (what I do now).

After the gym, I made myself some of my favorite breakfast food- oatmeal.

My mom was actually the first person to introduce me to real oatmeal. She always used to buy those little packages with dehydrated apples for me and my sister, but she would create these awesome concoctions for herself. When I realized how much sugar those packets had in them, I switched to mixing plain oats with honey and maple syrup and cinnamon. Then, when I came to college, I realized that buying plain oats in bulk was a lot cheaper than the prepackaged stuff.

Over the summer, I discovered KathEatsRealFood and her “Tribute to Oatmeal”. This one is inspired by her.

1/3 cup instant oats

1/4 cup shredded coconut

1 tablespoon chia seed/buckwheat/hemp seed mixture

1 tablespoon flaxseed

cinnamon

vanilla

maple syrup

Combine the first six ingredients in a bowl.

Boil water and add to oatmeal until it’s the right consistency. Stir. Add maple syrup to taste.

Basically one of the easiest and healthiest breakfast recipes you’ll find.

I ate dinner with one of my friends at the food court at Whole Foods today. Not wanting to be a creep, I didn’t take any pictures of anything. The food was good though. They’ve got a great hot food section with a really nice vegan selection. I just mixed a bunch of things together, like orange couscous, sweet potatoes, asparagus with orange zest, spinach and sunflower seeds, basically everything that looked good.

I did get to do some quick shopping for staple foods while I was there.

That hummus will be gone by tomorrow night. I already started making some headway on it for a late night snack.

Day One of Vegan-Vember was a success! I’m getting pumped for the rest of the month already.

♥, Sondra

Leave a Reply

