THANKSGIVING

25 Nov

The best food holiday of the year.

Breakfast: Soy yogurt with walnuts, coconut, raisins, and chia seeds


Ice skating on Thanksgiving is our family tradition. Instead of watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade like everyone else, we would get up early, don our thermals, jackets, and gloves, and head over to our local outdoor rink. My sister belonged to the figure skating club, so we got into the early morning session. Even after she stopped skating, we still kept our Thanksgiving tradition.

Lunch: Strawberry and Cherry Smoothie, Butternut Squash Soup

So I forgot to take pictures of the soup, but here’s the smoothie.

Making dinner:

Carrots from the garden.

My mom goes “Oh! Those look like legs! Let’s make a little guy.”

So we did.

Julia bought a persimmon from the health food store and we all ate some.

Dinner: Tofurkey Stuffing Casserole, Sweet Potatoes, Butternut Squash, Carrots.

I’m the only person in my family who eats cranberry sauce.

Here’s a stuffing recipe adapted from Veg Kitchen. It serves four people.

Walnut-Apple Stuffing and Tofurkey Casserole

3 cups breadcrumbs

1 1/2 tbsp olive oil

2 cups chopped yellow onion

3 cups peeled, diced tart apple

3 bunches scallions, minced

1/2 cup black walnuts

2 tbsp rosemary

1 cup raisins

1 1/2 cups vegetable broth

15 slices Tofurkey

1. Preheat oven to 375F.

2. Sauté the onions over medium heat until translucent. Add the apples, scallions, rosemary, and walnuts and cook for 5 minutes.

3. Combine the bread crumbs with the onion and apple mixture. Add the rest of the ingredients except the broth and toss together. Add the broth slowly while stirring to moisten the ingredients evenly.

4. Alternate layers of tofurkey deli slices with layers of stuffing in a clear, medium size pyrex dish.

5. Bake for 20 minutes at 375F.

“Looks gross, tastes great.” –Julia

Orange seems to have been the theme this Thanksgiving.

Dessert: Pumpkin Pie and Cherry Strawberry Coconut Ice Cream

The pumpkin pie recipe is here

I also refrigerated it overnight so the cream hardened up. I was pleasantly surprised when I opened it up.

Beautiful, beautiful coconut cream.

Julia took my picture taking privileges away from me after this.

Doesn’t that look amazing!? I need to get a good camera like hers.

I am so thankful the amazing people in my life. Thank you all so much for everything you all do. You know who you are <3

And who ever made it to the end of this insanely long blog post– thank you. I’m so passionate about veganism and making food and it makes me so excited that people want to share the experience with me. I love when people come up to me and tell me that they read my blog. It means so much to me. Thank you thank you thank you!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

